The Reject Pile

This is the time of year when I like to go through some of my older photos that I didn’t quite like at the time they were shot but I couldn’t delete them either. Often I will look at older shots with a new eye and reconsider their potential.

This is one of them.  I shot this in May of 2006 just after lobster season opened.  After having a second look at it I wondered why I put it in the reject pile.  Perhaps I’m not as picky as I used to be? Or perhaps I wanted more colour in my photos back then.  I kind of like the lack of colour in this one, now.

I’m beginning to wonder how many photos I deleted over the years that I might have liked after re-visiting it.  Oh well, they’re just little specks of digital dust now.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “The Reject Pile”

  1. Stephen Says:

    How aggressive are you on deleting? Any idea what the ratio is on how much you shoot per year and how many photos you still have? I still have a hard time deleting anything that is in focus. Regardless of how bad the shot is.

  2. Sonny's Pics Says:

    I have no problem culling out the shots. I probably only keep about 10% of what I shoot and then I go back quite often and cull some more out. The only really bad shots I keep would be ones that were impossible to get again, like a rare bird or something.

  3. Stephen Says:

    Would you keep 10,000 photos a year?

  4. Sonny's Pics Says:

    Heaven’s no. Maybe 2 or 3 thousand.

Leave a Reply

