The Christmas Bird Count

This weekend I will be joining in on the Christmas bird count for the first time.  Well, first time that I won’t be just looking out my window to do it. I plan to meet up with some “real” birders in Souris, PEI at 6:00 in the morning and from there we will go to the very eastern tip of the Island to freeze our…, I mean observe and keep a tally of as many birds as we can.

Here’s one…

Mourning Dove

An interesting thing about the Christmas bird count.  I didn’t know this until this morning, that before 1900 the bird count was actually a bird hunt.  A contest to see who could bring home the most kill. Thankfully, ornithologist Frank Chapman along with 27 other birders, suggested at the turn of the century that it might be wiser to count them rather than kill them. Thanks to Mr. Chapman and his friends we still have birds to enjoy today.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “The Christmas Bird Count”

  1. Stephen Says:

    There are that many bird photographers on pei?

  2. Barbara Says:

    Wow, 6 a.m. in Souris ……… hopefully you drive by a Tim Horton’s for some hot coffee!!! Will be an interesting day!!! Hopefully this wind will go down ……… enjoy your first official bird count.

  3. Sonny's Pics Says:

    No, not that many birders who photograph them. Most of these people will be scoping them. I likely won’t get a lot of photos doing this.

  4. jpeg Says:

    I hope you get some nice sightings out on this cool day. I will be doing my count from my kitchen window today.

  5. jpeg Says:

    Oh and I’m looking forward to seeing your Christmas Bird Count photos

  6. Sonny's Pics Says:

    Had to change my plans. The check engine light was coming on in my car yesterday and I didn’t want to chance going that distance. Making plans to walk the trail now from York to Bedford.

Leave a Reply

