Harsh Light

Sometimes the lighting is all wrong for taking photos. Like yesterday when I took the dog for a walk on the beach at Robinson’s Island.  The mid-day sun was so harsh and the beach I was on was polluted with the remains of old deadwood that had drifted up on shore. The wood was mostly white and the grassy dunes were big masses of glare.  Even with a polarizing lens, my shots looked really bad.

Then I came across this little tuft of grass surrounded by some dryer sand with some interesting ripples in the sand around it.  I underexposed by half a stop and moved around to get the best effect from my polarizer.

blogRobinson's Island-5

Wind Grass

Even though the shadow and highlights are quite harsh, I think the photos works.  That said, I may have gotten a spectacular shot had I waited a few hours for dusk.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Harsh Light”

  1. jpeg Says:

    It’s a very nice photo, well done.

  2. Sonny's Pics Says:

    Thanks jpeg.

Leave a Reply

