What’s In The Bag

Periodically I get asked what equipment I use for shooting. So for those who might be interested, here is a list of what’s in my camera bag right now.

I have two bags actually.  One for doing my regular shooting and another for bringing in the canoe where there’s a chance it might sink to the bottom of no repair.

Regular equipment

  • Canon 40D camera
  • EF-S 1022mm 3.54.5 lens
  • EF 24105mm f4.0 L IS lens
  • EF-S 60mm f2.8 macro lens
  • EF 200mm F2.8 L II lens
  • EF 100400mm 4.55.6L IS lens
  • Gitzo G1297 Tripod
  • Really Right Stuff BH-40 with B2 AS II clamp
  • Gitzo G1564 Monopod
  • Manfrotto model #234 swivel head with Really Right Stuff B2 AS2-Pro clamp
  • Jobu Jr. Gimbal Head
  • Canon Speedlite 420EX
  • Canon 1.4X Extender
  • Canon 2X Extender
  • 2 Singh-Ray ND filters
  • 1 Singh-Ray Vari-N-Duo Warming Polarizer filter
  • Various other filters
  • LowePro Micro Trekker 200

Canoe Equipment

muskrat

  • Canon Digital Rebel XT 350D
  • CANON EF 300MM F4.0 L IS lens
  • Tamron 1.4X Extender
  • B+W Polarizing Filter
  • I usually take my 1022mm 3.54.5 lens as well
  • 1 Pelican 1450 waterproof case
Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “What’s In The Bag”

  1. Stephen Says:

    I always find posts like this interesting. Nice collection. Found your site after receiving the IP calendar today.

  2. Sonny's Pics Says:

    Oh, is the calendar out? I haven’t received my copy yet. Thanks for letting me know.

  3. Stephen Says:

    I’ve read many mixed reviews about the canon extenders. How would you rate the 200mm + 2x extender vs the 100-400 lens? Similar quality at 400mm?

  4. Sonny's Pics Says:

    The quality would be slightly less than the 100-400 lens, but only slightly. There is an advantage in weight, though, which is what I like if I’m carrying equipment any distance.

  5. Stephen Says:

    Thanks, that’s good to know. I’ve have the 100-400 on my wishlist but for how often I’d actually use it, the 2x might be a better choice. I’ve just seen many negative reviews about how it degrades the optics.

    Maybe we’ll cross paths some day and I could try it 😉

  6. Sonny's Pics Says:

    I should have also mentioned that my 200mm does not have image stabilization. The 200mm plus 2X is actually more equivalent to the 400mm f/5.6 than the 100-400.

    Perhaps I’ll do my own little test and post the results. I’ve never actually “peeped” the two.

    Yes, maybe we should get out for a shoot some time.

Leave a Reply

